# Triennium Report 2011-2014 of Commission J

This is a brief summary of the activities of Commission J and the developments in radio astronomy during this triennium. Support of conferences and workshop that were supported financially and technically are listed, as are the topics for sessions at the Beijing GASS. Commission J does not currently have any Working Groups.

## 1. <u>Officers of Commission J for this triennium:</u>

Chair: Justin Jonas, Rhodes University, South Africa Vice-chair: Willem Baan, ASTRON, Netherlands Past-chair: Subramaniam Ananthakrishnan, Pune University, India

## 2. <u>Terms of Reference for Commission J</u>

The activities of the Commission include:

- observation and interpretation of cosmic radio emissions from the early universe to the present epoch and
- radio reflections from solar system bodies

Emphasis is placed on:

- The promotion of science-driven techniques for making radioastronomical observations and data analysis,
- Support of activities to protect radio-astronomical observations from harmful interference.

### 3. <u>Finances</u>

To date a total of  $\in$  3600 has been used to support young scientist attendance at selected meetings (see table below). This leaves a balance of  $\in$  5400.

### 4. <u>Support of meetings and workshops</u>

The following meetings and workshops were provided with moral and/or financial support.

Meeting	Country	Date	Support for
			young scientists
Radio and Antenna Days of the	Mauritius	24-27 Sept 2012	€1000
Indian Ocean (RADIO 2012)			
IconSpace 2013	Malaysia	1-3 July 2013	
AP-RASC'13	Taiwan	3-7 Sept 2013	€1000

IEEE AFRICON 2013	Mauritius	9-12 Sept 2013	€1000
International Conference on	India	13-15 Dec 2013	
Microwaves and Photonics			
(ICMAP 2013)			
Regional Conference on Radio	India	2-5 Jan 2014	€600
Science			
Radio and Antenna Days of the	Mauritius	7-10 April 2014	
Indian Ocean (RADIO 2014)			

## 5. <u>Vice-chair and Early Career Representative nominees.</u>

Yihua Yan (NAO, China) and Richard Bradley (NRAO, USA) are the two nominees for Vice-chair of Commission J. Andrew Siemion (UC Berkeley, USA) and Stefan Wijnholds (ASTRON, Netherlands) have been nominated as Early Career Representatives.

## 6. <u>Square Kilometre Array</u>

Having been conceptualized within a Commission J working group on large telescopes, the SKA has now progressed to a stage of significant maturity. The SKA Organization has been established under the leadership of Phil Diamond as Director General, with headquarters based in the UK. The SKAO is working in conjunction with international consortia to deign the elements of the SKA. Australia and Africa have been selected as the hosts for the SKA telescopes, and precursor instruments are being commissioned on both sites. Phil Diamond will be presenting one of the General Lectures at the Beijing GASS.

## 7. <u>Beijing URSI GASS Scientific Sessions</u>

The topics of the scientific sessions for the Beijing GASS were chosen to match the exciting developments in radio astronomy across the globe, and indeed in space too. There are a total of 89 oral presentations (excluding the Tutorial and General lectures) and 25 poster papers.

Session	Title	Papers
J01	Radio Astronomy in China	4
J02/03	Observatory Reports	10
J04/05	New Generation Radio Telescopes	11
J06	Polarization and magnetic fields from the	6
	solar system to the CMBR	
J07/08	Observing the mm and sub-mm Universe:	7
	from the CMBR to local molecules	
J09/10	Probing the Hydrogen Universe	9
J11/12	Correlation, calibration and imaging	11
	across all wavelengths	

J13	Solar radio emission: astrophysics and	
	space weather applications	
J14/15	Time Domain Radio Astronomy: An	5
	example of Big Data in astronomy	
J16/17	Latest observations and results	8
J18/19	Antennas, detectors and receivers for new	7
	generation radio telescopes	
JT	Enabling technologies for modern radio	
	astronomy	
JP	Poster Session	25
EJ10/02	Spectrum Management (joint with	5
	Commission E)	

### 8. <u>Awards</u>

The following distinguished Radio Astronomers were awarded deserved honours during the triennium, and we congratulate them.

2014 Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal:	Kenneth Kellermann, NRAO, USA
Order of Oranje-Nassau:	Arnold van Ardenne, ASTRON, Netherlands
Grote Reber Medal:	Nicolay Kardashev, Lebedev Physical Institute, Russia (2012)
	James Moran, Harvard, USA (2013) Ron Ekers, CSIRO, Australia (2014)

Ron Ekers will be presented the 2014 Reber Medal at the Beijing GASS prior to giving the Commission J Tutorial Lecture.