# URSI General Assembly, Chicago, USA (Aug. 2008)

## **Report on the Open Commission Meetings (Business Meetings)**

# **Commission E**

### **Electromagnetic Noise and Interference**

Chair: Christos Christopoulos (UK)

Vice Chair: A P J van Deursen (Netherlands)

#### 1) Terms of reference

After some discussion, Commission E voted the following amended version of ToR.

Commission E - ELECTROMAGNETIC ENVIRONMENT AND INTERFERENCE.

The Commission promotes research and development in:

- (a) Terrestrial and planetary noise of natural origin, seismic associated electromagnetic fields;
- (b) Man-made electromagnetic environment;
- (c) The composite noise environment;
- (d) The effects of noise on system performance;
- (e) The effects of natural and intentional emissions on equipment performance;
- (f) The scientific basis of noise and interference control, electromagnetic compatibility;
- (g) Spectrum management.

#### 2) Working Groups

The Commission E activities are based on the work conducted by the working groups (WG). After some discussion, Commission E voted the following amended list of WG.

Working Groups 2008-2011

E.1. Terrestrial and Planetary Electromagnetic Noise Environment Co-Chairs: K. Hattori (Japan), M. Hayakawa (Japan), Y. Hobara (Japan), A.P. Nickolaenko (Ukraine) and C. Price (Israel);

E.2. Intentional Electromagnetic Interference

Co-Chairs: W. Radasky (USA) and M. Bäckström (Sweden);

E.3. High Power Electromagnetics

Co-Chairs: C.E. Baum (USA) and R.L. Gardner (USA);

E.4. Lightning Discharges and Related Phenomena

Chair: Z. Kawasaki (Japan);

E.5. Interaction with, and Protection of, Complex Electronic Systems

Co-Chairs: F Sabath (Germany) and J-P. Parmentier (France);

E.6. Spectrum Management

Chair: T. Tjelta (Norway);

E.7. Geo-Electromagnetic Disturbances and Their Effects on Technological Systems

Chair: A. Viljanen (Finland);

E.8. Electromagnetic Compatibility in Wire and Wireless Communication Systems

Co-Chairs: J. Gavan (Israel) and A. Zeddam (France);

Also, Commission E designated its representatives to WG jointly operated with other Commissions as follows:

Joint Working Groups

Inter-commission working group on Solar Power Satellites

Co-Chair for Commission E: Zen Kawasaki (Japan), Jacques Gavan (Israel)

EGH. Seismo Electromagnetics (Lithosphere-Atmosphere-Ionosphere Coupling)

Co-Chair for Commission E: M. Hayakawa (Japan)

#### 3) Sponsorship of Conferences

Commission E sponsors on average twelve meetings in the period between general assemblies. At the business meetings it was decided that a more proactive approach should be adopted focussing on the sponsorship of at least one major conference in Europe, the Americas and Asia. For these targeted meetings the intention is to organise and lead a session under the URSI label. The Commission will continue to respond positively to requests to sponsor other meetings relevant to its terms of reference. A provisional list of meetings to be sponsored in the next three-year period is given below. This list will be continuously updated and will appear in the Commission's web page:

- International Conference on Electromagnetics in Advanced Applications (ICEAA09), Torino, Italy, Sept 14-18, 2009.
- EMC Europe, Wroclaw, Poland, 13-17 Sept. 2010.
- EMC Europe Workshop "Materials in EMC Applications", Athens, Greece, 11-12 June 2009.
- Asia-Pacific EMC Week, Beijing China, 12-16 Apr 2010.

National Representatives are invited to inform the Chair well in advance of meetings suitable for sponsorship in order to be able to plan a budget for future years.

#### 5) Vice Chair Election

Prof Alexander P J van Deuren (Technical University of Eindhoven, Netherlands) was elected as Vice-Chair. He will also serve as the Commission E Editor of the Radio Science Bulletin.

CC/18-09-2008