GA2008 Chicago

Business Meetings Report

Commission C

Radio-Communication Systems and Signal Processing

Takashi Ohira

1. Welcome to URSI General Assembly in Chicago

The commission held open business meetings on 11th and 13th, August 2008. The following persons were present at least at one meeting, but mostly at both: Takashi Ohira (Chair); Kenji Itoh (Japan); Sana Salous (UK); Robert Bultitude (Canada); Marek Amanowicz (Poland); Jacques Palicot (France); Alain Sibille (France); Maurice Bellanger (France); Andrew Parfitt (Australia). At the opening of the first business meeting, the Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting and attendees introduced themselves.

2. Election of the next Vice-Chair

Four candidates, Marco Luise (Italy), Robert J.C. Bultitude (Canada), Palicot Jacques (France), and Igor V. Zavislyak (Ukrain), for the next Vice-Chair were nominated. Marco Luise was elected as a result of 14 points against runner up of 12 points.

3. Commission Editor for the new Radio Science Bulletin

Although Marco Luise, new vice chair, did not attended the meetings, he later indicated his willingness to serve as Commission Editor for RSB.

4. Review of the Last Triennium

The chair reported the activity of Commission C in this triennium as follows:

- 4.1 International Events Sponsored by URSI/URSI-C
 - (i) General Assembly (URSI-GA2008)
 - (ii) International Symposium on Signals Systems and Electronics (ISSSE2007)
 - (iii) International Symposium on Radio Systems and Space Plasma (ISRSSP2007)

4.2 Website

http://www.ursi.org/C/Index.htm

4.3 Radio Science Bulletin (RSB)

Associate Editor: Takashi Ohira

The following two papers were published.

- [1] T. Kaizer et al, "Ultra-wideband wireless systems: A broad overview," RSB320, pp.25-40, March 2007.
- [2] E. Taillefer and J. Cheng, "Reactance-domain signal processing for adaptive beamforming and direction-of-arrival estimation: An overview," RSB323, pp.14-25, Dec. 2007.

4.4 The Terms of Reference

Radio-Communication Systems and Signal Processing

The Commission promotes Research and Development in:

- a Radio-Communication and Telecommunication Systems;
- b Spectrum and Medium Utilization;
- c Information Theory, Coding, Modulation and Detection;
- d Signal and Image Processing in the area of radio science.

The design of effective radio-communication systems must include scientific, engineering and economic considerations. This Commission emphasizes research into the scientific aspects, and provides enabling technologies to other areas of radio science.

5. Role of National Representatives of "C"

Further enhancement of the national and international activity of Commission C should strongly be prompted for the next triennium. While National Representatives are desired to have close contact with Commission C, Commission C also is encouraged to try to cooperate with radio scientists in each country in parallel to National Representatives

6. Plan for the Next Triennium

- 6.1 Meetings and Symposia
- (i) General Assembly (URSI-GA2011)

August 2011, Venue: Istanbul, Turkey

(ii) International Symposium on Signals Systems and Electronics (ISSSE2010)

Sponsors: Commissions C and D

Organizer candidate: Prof Wei Hong, China South East Univ.

(iii) Asia-Pacific Radio Science Conference (APRASC2009)

Local organizer: Prof Toshimi Okada, University of Toyama Prefecture

6.2 Website

http://www.ursi.org/C/Index.htm

6.3 Radio Science Bulletin (RSB)

The commission continues to contribute to RSB.

Marco Luise, Associate Editor, will call for papers.

6.4 Development of New National Members

Through our activities, the commission is willing to recruit new national members.

7. National Representatives Roster

Following is the national representatives of the commission. If there is a change for next triennial, it should be contacted to Takashi Ohira.

ARGENTINA: Prof. A. QUIJANO AUSTRALIA: Prof. A.J. PARFITT AUSTRIA: Prof. S.J. BAUER

BELGIUM: Prof. L. VANDENDORPE BRAZIL: Prof. H. WALDMAN BULGARIA: Prof. B.B. SHISHKOV

CANADA: Mr. C. DESPINS CHILE: Dr. R. FEICK

CHINA (CIE): Dr. Zhi-Hua WANG
CZECH: Prof. D. BIOLEK
DENMARK: Dr. K.J. LARSEN
EGYPT: Prof. S.E. ELKHAMY
FINLAND: Mr. J. AURINSALO
FRANCE: Dr J. PALICOT

GERMANY: Dr. W. MATHIS

GREECE: Prof. N. KALOUPTSIDIS

HUNGARY: Dr. L. NAGY
INDIA: Dr. S.K. KOUL
IRELAND: Dr. L. DOYLE
ISRAEL: Dr. S. LITSYN
JAPAN: Prof. S. KOMAKI
NETHERLANDS: Dr. F.M.J. WILLEMS
NEW ZEALAND: Dr. P.T. GOUGH

NORWAY: Prof. B. FORSSELL PERU: Dr. M. F. SARANGO POLAND: Prof. M. PIEKARSKI Prof. J.N. LEITAO PORTUGAL: **RUSSIA:** Dr. A.B. SHMELEV SLOVAKIA: Prof. P. FARKAS Dr. D.D. MASHAO SOUTH AFRICA: SPAIN: Prof. M. S. PEREZ SWEDEN: Dr. E. ENGLUND

SWITZERLAND: Prof. M. RUBINSTEIN TAIWAN: Dr. Y-K TU

TURKEY: Dr. E. PANAYIRCI

UKRAINE: Prof. V.V. DANILOV UK: Prof. S. SALOUS USA: Dr. D. PALMER

8. Wrap Up

- (1) Joint sessions will be organized in next GA
- (2) Ideas and topics will be collected to chair
- (3) Students are important for promote our activities.
- (4) We will make advertisement on website
- (5) Special commission C student award should be considered.
- (6) Make invited student papers on RSB
- (7) Prepare specific call for papers