

Commission B 2008-2011 Triennial Report

1. GA 2008, Chicago

The URSI Board approved the election of Karl Langenberg, Germany, as Chair and Giuliano Manara, Italy, as Vice-Chair for the period 2008 – 2011

2. International Symposium on Electromagnetic Theory 2010

This triennial Symposium was held in Berlin, Germany, August 16 – 19, 2010; it attracted about 260 participants. The scientific program was set up by a Technical Program Committee consisting of the national Commission B Chairs supported by a Technical Advisory Board formed by well-known radio scientists. Topics included the conventional topics of the Commission B terms of reference as well as special sessions proposed by respective conveners. A memorial session for the late Femke Olyslager was organized by Daniel De Zutter and Ludger Klinkenbusch. The local arrangements for the Symposium including preparation of the abstract booklet and the proceedings and maintenance of the website was in the hands of the Local Organizing Committee headed by Ludger Klinkenbusch. A highlight of the Symposium was by no doubts the Banquet that was held in the glass courtyard of the Jewish Museum.

URSI symposia carefully maintain the tradition that is also true for the General Assemblies to support Young Scientists. The Berlin Symposium received 49 applications satisfying the criteria that the applicant must be the first author, and that he must be younger than 35. Consuetudinarily, for the Commission B Symposia the Vice-Chair of the Commission, presently Giuliano Manara, is responsible to handle the program. With the help of reviewers he proposed 21 nominees, and, as a matter of fact, due to the financial support of URSI and several sponsors, all 21 could be supported meaning that their registration fee was waived,

and that they received a per diem and an invitation to the Banquet; those from developing countries also received a financial travel support.

Two more sponsors – the software company CST and the consulting company NavCom – arranged for a Young Scientist Best Paper Award: first prize Euro 1000, second prize Euro 750, third prize Euro 500. To select potential awardees from the Young Scientists reviewers proposed 6 nominees who, in addition to their oral paper, had to prepare a poster that was evaluated by a selection committee. Finally, the awardees were announced during the Banquet: 1. Yan Kaganovsky from Israel, 2. Alireza Kazemzadeh from Sweden, 3. Giorgio Carluccio from Italy.

3. International URSI Commission B Symposia 2013 and 2016

The 2013 Symposium will be held in Hiroshima, Japan, May 20 – 23. A pre-announcement flyer has been distributed during the Berlin Symposium. Questions about the Symposium and its technical program can be directed to the present URSI Commission B Vice-Chair. For the 2016 Symposium the site will be chosen during the Commission B Business Meeting during the GASS 2011; the present Chair has received a bid by the French Commission B to hold the Symposium in Versailles, France.

4. GASS 2011

With the help of Conveners Commission B has been able not only to fill its allocated slots for invited and submitted oral papers, but a substantial number of evenly high-ranking papers had to be moved to the two Poster Sessions. The Commission B Tutorial will be given by Richard W. Ziolkowski, USA, on Metamaterials. Commission B Member Ehud Heyman, Israel, will be awarded the Balthasar van der Pol Gold Medal.

5. Vice-Chair Election 2011 - 2014

Five nominations have been received by the Commission by March 1, 2011:

Ayhan Altintas, Turkey,

Kazuya Kobayashi, Japan,

Ari Sihvola, Finland,

Donald Wilton, USA,

Man-Fai Wong, France.

At that time URSI rules allowed for a minimum of two and a maximum of 4 nominees;

therefore, a pre-selection committee has been established by the Chair consisting of the Chair, the Vice-Chair, two Past-Chairs, and two active members of Commission B. It came up with the suggestion not to consider the nomination of Kazuya Kobayashi, and appropriate ballot forms have been sent out by URSI. Unfortunately, Man-Fai Wong passed away on April 3 leading to the change of the URSI rules to allow more than 4 nominees. The respective new ballot forms including the Japanese nominee have been disseminated. The final election will take place during the first Commission B Business Meeting during GASS 2011 that has to be subsequently approved by the URSI Board.

6. Publication Matters

Papers presented during the 2010 International Commission B Symposium on Electromagnetic Theory will be published by IEEEXplore.

Upon suggestions of session chairs and conveners authors have been invited to contribute to a Special Section of Radio Science; submitted papers are presently under review. For what concerns the tutorials for the Radio Science Bulletin, a paper on "On Body Communications" has been published in the December 2010 issue. The paper is co-authored by Prof. Peter Hall, University of Birmingham , UK, and Prof. Yang Hao, Queen Mary University of London, UK. Several other contributions have been invited, but it seems not so easy to obtain submissions. However, three papers should be received in a short time, so that we will try to have them published in the June or September issue.

7. Global URSI Symposium to Complement the GASS

During a Business Meeting in Berlin members of Commission B strongly opposed the establishment of such an additional symposium; instead, Commissions should try hard to come up with similar triennial symposia as Commissions B and F.

Karl J. Langenberg
Chair of International URSI Commission B

Kassel, May 5, 2011